Honey fig crêpes with mascarpone

I just got The Flavor Bible in yesterday, I’ve been looking forward to receiving this book for a few weeks now. I had some dried figs in the pantry, so I flipped it open and started looking what it would pair well. Walnuts, check. Honey? always. I also had some leftover mascarpone from puff pastries I made on Sunday. The following is the outcome!

Mascarpone

  • 3/4 cup cold whipping cream
  • 2/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup mascarpone cheese
  • lemon zest

Instructions

  1. Whip the heavy cream and powdered sugar until soft peaks form. 
  2. Add the zest of one lemon.
  3. Add the mascarpone cheese and vanilla.
  4. Whip again until smooth.
  5. Spoon into piping bag (or Ziploc that you can then cut an edge on to make a piping bag)
  6. Store in fridge until ready

Honey-fig topping

  • 5 dried figs (seeded and chopped)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 3 tbsp of butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt ground ginger, cardamom, and nutmeg
  • 1/8 – 1/4 cup brandy (I didn’t do this but I think it would have thinned the topping out perfectly)

Instructions

  1. In a large pan combine the butter and honey over medium heat. let it cook for about 2 minutes to slightly thicken.
  2. Add the walnuts, salt, and spices, and cook for 1-2 minutes.
  3. Add the figs and cook until softened.
  4. This is where I’d have added the brandy and switched to high heat until slight simmer and mixture thickens to desired consistency.
  5. Set aside.

Crêpes

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • ½ cup milk
  • ½ cup water
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter

Instructions

  1. Whisk flour and eggs together in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Slowly add in milk and water, while mixing.
  3. Add salt and melted butter; beat until smooth.
  4. Heat lightly buttered pan over Medium-High heat.
  5. Pour 1/4 cup batter into thin disc into pan. (If too thick tilt pan to evenly spread around the current disc.)
  6. Let cook until spatula can easily slide under. (About 1 minute)
  7. Flip and let cook on other side.

Note: when preparing entire batter I stack my completed crêpes onto a plate my and put plate into oven while preheating to lowest possible heat.

Assembly

  1. Take crêpe and coat with mascarpone.
  2. Roll.
  3. Top with honey-fig mixture
  4. I ran dark chocolate over a microplane to finish the dish.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started